Environmental Health & Safety
Supporting the campus community by proactively protecting people, property and the environment in a responsible and cost effective manner.

Slip-resistant Footware

Section 1

Slip-resistant Footware Program

Program Objectives

This program provides slip-resistant footwear (SRF) to employees at University of California- Irvine locations who regularly work in environments that are determined to be abnormally wet or slippery. The objective of this program is to reduce the frequency and severity of slips and falls for employees working in such environments.

 

Enrollment Instructions

All departments interested in participating in the SRF Program (new and existing) must submit an application for participation. Program participation requires upper-level management approval and support. To enroll in the program, please follow these instructions:

1. Contact your EH&S Liaison and provide the following:

  • A description of the slip / fall hazards within your department
  • Justification for the enrollment of your department in the program
  • You may also consider providing historical slip / fall injury data

2. Together with your EH&S Liaison, complete and submit the SRF Program Participation Application for review and approval. Shoes may be ordered using the UC Slip-Resistant tool available on the UCOP UC Slip-Resistant Footware Program site at: http://www.ucop.edu/risk-services/loss-prevention-control/slip-resistant.html.

Upon approval, your department will be provided with instructions and information to begin ordering shoes.

Resources

UCI Participating Departments

Department Name

Account #

Department Contact

Email

Arroyo Vista Housing

UCI 1

Paul Lange

langep@uci.edu

Middle Earth Housing

UCI 2

Suzanne Crane

cranes1@uci.edu

Verano Place Housing

UCI 3

Jason Espinoza

jasonae@uci.edu

Campus Village

UCI 4

Jerry Smith

jlsmith@uci.edu

UCI ULAR

UCI 5

Jefferson Chau

jlchau@uci.edu

UCI Food Service

UCI 6

Diana Garcia

dianaf1@uci.edu

UCI Custodial/ Recycling

UCI 7

Michelle Poage

mpoage@uci.edu

UCI Custodial

UCI 8

Jake Soto

sotomj@uci.edu

UCI Student Health Center

UCI 9

Matthew Mallari

mmallari@uci.edu

HAS Grounds

UCI 10

Gregory Haynes

ghaynes@uci.edu

Mesa Court Housing

UCI 11

Johnny Saucedo

saucedoj@uci.edu

 

Contacts

UC Irvine EH&S Liaison:
Sergio Chinchilla
949-824-1413
chinchis@uci.edu